Hinterland

FAQs for guests

Do you have any questions? Find the answers here! Enter your keyword in the search bar or click through the categories.

General

  • What is hinterland.camp?

    We founded hinterland.camp in 2020 with the mission of enabling a new, sustainable way of traveling - today we are Germany's leading platform for camps and cabins close to nature. Always in a secluded location, surrounded by nature and far away from the crowds. Discover over 2,500 campsites as well as tree houses, tiny houses and more with friendly hosts who look forward to your visit. All accommodation can be booked with just a few clicks via our website and the Hinterland app.


  • Do I have to pay anything for hinterland.camp?

    Hinterland is completely free to use the platform and app. Only when you decide to book a pitch, a tiny house or a cabin you have to pay the costs for the overnight stay. Additional services such as electricity, water, firewood, ... may incur further costs in consultation with the hosts. You can usually find this information in the listing description, otherwise you are welcome to contact the hosts.


  • How many other campers should I expect on the campsite?

    We have many camps in a completely secluded location, but also some that can be booked with up to three vehicles. You can find out how many pitches a host offers in the listing under "Available spots on camp". If you only want to discover camps in a secluded location, simply use our filter.


  • Is there an app?

    Yes, there is a Hinterland app that allows you to book your outdoor adventures even more quickly and easily while on the move. You can download it here.


  • Are there any basic rules that I have to follow?

    Our hosts make the rules. Please ensure that you treat the hosts' property with respect and leave the camps and cabins clean and tidy at all times. Nature and peace and quiet are valuable assets.


  • Can the campsites also be rented permanently?

    Permanent campsites are not really the "point" of hinterland.camp. Information on the maximum length of stay can be found in the listing under "Overnight stays". If you would like to stay longer, please contact our customer support directly at hallo@hinterland.camp so that we can discuss a longer stay and individual price with the host.


  • What's the deal with the VW campsites?

    We have been an official partner of Volkswagen Nutzfahreuge since 2021. Together we curate ten unique places exclusively for VW campers per season, which you can recognize by the "VW only" label. Don't have a VW? No problem, because we regularly give away road trips with the latest models! You can find more information here.


  • Which VW models are allowed on the "VW only" camps?

    All VW-based motorhomes are welcome on the ten exclusive camps. Please note that these are campsites for motorhomes and not tent pitches - tents set up as roof tents are of course permitted. All other pitches (we now have just under 2,500 pitches) are of course still open to ALL. :-)


Payment

  • Which payment methods are supported?

    Payment is very easy via our homepage or app using Apple Pay, Google Pay, direct debit or credit card.


  • Why can't I pay in cash at the camp or cabin?

    Cash payment is not permitted, as we as a platform live from a service fee that we would lose if you paid at the camp or cabin.


  • When will the amount be debited?

    This depends on when you book your camp or cabin. The money will be collected or debited from your specified account or credit card at the earliest 30 days before arrival.


  • Why is there €0 on my credit card statement?

    The debit of 0.00 euros that you see on the statement is just an indication that everything went well with the authorization of the credit card payment. The amount is already earmarked, so to speak, and will be debited shortly before the start of your trip.


Booking

  • How do I book a camp or cabin?

    You can book or request a camp or cabin via the listing. Select your desired travel dates and click on "Continue with booking" or "Continue with request", then you will be guided through the process step by step.

    All your requests and bookings can be found under "My trips".


  • What is the difference between instant bookings and bookings on request?

    When booking on request, your hosts have the option of confirming the booking in advance, so you still have to wait for the booking confirmation. With instant bookings, this step is not necessary and your booking will be confirmed automatically. In special cases with instant bookings, your hosts may cancel the booking within 24 hours, in which case you will receive a notification by email or a push message in our app.

    You can view the status of your requested booking at any time via "My trips".


  • Can I book a camp or cabin at short notice?

    You can also book an overnight stay at short notice (even on the same day). In some cases, you may only be able to book listings with an instant booking function the day before or until 12 noon on the day of arrival - in this case, please contact our Customer Support and we will clarify everything for you.


  • When will I receive feedback on the status of my requested booking?

    Experience has shown that our hosts always reply very reliably and quickly within one day. However, please also note that most hosts are private individuals and offer their accommodation alongside their actual work. You can check the status of your requested booking at any time via "My trips". You will also receive an update by email or push message in our app when your booking has been accepted.


  • How do I know if a camp or cabin is available?

    You will find a booking calendar in the advertisements where you can see when a camp or cabin is available or not. Dates that are already booked or blocked by the host are crossed out and cannot be clicked on.


  • Can groups also book a campsite?

    The maximum number of people per place can be found in the listing. Group bookings may be possible in exceptional cases - please contact the host directly. If he/she agrees, please contact our Customer Support at hallo@hinterland.cam so that we can discuss a group booking and an individual price with the host.


  • Can I rebook existing bookings to another date or shorten them by nights?

    If you would like to rebook or shorten a booking in a special case, please contact our Customer Support at hallo@hinterland.camp.


Communication

  • How do I get in touch with the hosts?

    On the listing page, you can start a chat at any time using the "Contact host" button and ask individual questions directly to your hosts (this will not yet result in a booking). This function is available to you as soon as you are logged in.


  • Why are phone numbers and e-mail addresses hidden in the chat?

    We hide telephone numbers and email addresses so that bookings and payments are processed securely via our portal. After a binding booking, you can view the address, telephone number and email address of your host under "My trips".


  • How can I rate a camp or cabin?

    After you have visited a camp or cabin, you can rate the listing using a 5-star scale and a text. As a reminder, you will receive a short email after your departure, otherwise you will find this function under "Reviews" in the navigation bar. It is only available to you if you have completed a trip to the Hinterland. With reviews you help other guests and hosts immensely, so feel free to leave reviews to improve the Hinterland experience for everyone! :)


Cancellation

  • Until when can a booking be canceled?

    Hosts set their own cancellation deadlines. You can always see this transparently in the listing and while booking. There you will find a specific date that shows you exactly when you can cancel the booking free of charge. The following deadlines exist for the hosts to choose from:
    Flexible: As a guest, you can cancel up to 1 day before arrival (12:00) and receive a full refund of the booking amount including hinterland service fees.
    Relaxed: As a guest, you can cancel up to 10 days before your arrival and receive a full refund of the booking amount including hinterland service fees.
    Moderate: As a guest, you can cancel up to 30 days before your arrival and receive a full refund of the booking amount including hinterland service fees.

    As a guest, you have the opportunity to make super easy use of the German right of withdrawal and can therefore always cancel independently & free of charge within 48 hours of booking, but no later than 1 day before arrival.

    You can also ask your hosts for a goodwill cancellation after your cancellation period has expired. To do this, you have the option of explaining the reason for canceling your booking under Cancellation. The hosts can then decide whether to reject the cancellation request or refund you either 100% or 50% of the booking price minus the Hinterland service fees.


  • How can I cancel a booking?

    In your dashboard under "My trips" you can see for each trip until when you can cancel it free of charge - and can then cancel it yourself using the "Cancel booking" button. You can submit a cancellation request to your host outside of the cancellation period set by the host. This can also be done via the dashboard in the "My trips" section, choose the respective booking, cancel under "Cancellation". Please note that this is a goodwill cancellation and it can be helpful to explain to your host in as much detail as possible in the text field why you cannot take the trip. Your hosts can then decide whether or not to reimburse the cancellation costs.

    Here you can find information about the cancellation costs.


  • What are the cancellation costs?

    If you as a guest cancel a booking at least 30 days before the arrival date, the rental price will be refunded, but not the service fee. If you cancel a booking within 30 days of the arrival date, no refund will be made.


  • Who should I contact if I have a complaint?

    As a guest, you are obliged to report serious complaints within 24 hours of arrival by email (hallo@hinterland.camp) and to provide detailed information or evidence (e.g. in the form of photos or videos) about the circumstances of the complaint. We will then review your individual case and if your complaint is justified, we may withhold payment of the booking to the host.


  • Until when is a complaint possible?

    If you wish to make a complaint, this must be done within the first 24 hours of arrival at the camp or cabin by sending an email to hallo@hinterland.camp. You must also include detailed information or evidence (e.g. in the form of photos or videos) that will give us a better insight into the circumstances of the complaint.


  • Is it possible to cancel as a gesture of goodwill after the cancellation deadline?

    Yes, it is still possible to request a refund of the booking costs after the cancellation deadline set by the hosts. Please note, however, that this is a goodwill cancellation in which the hosts decide individually whether to grant a cancellation. If they accept your request and agree to cancel, they can also decide whether to grant a refund of 100% or 50% of the booking price minus the Hinterland fees.


Furnishing

  • Are there options for gray and black water disposal?

    You can find all information about the facilities directly in the advertisement under "What this accommodation offers you".


  • Are sanitary facilities provided by the hosts?

    You can find all information about the facilities directly in the advertisement under "What this accommodation offers you".


  • Are power connections available on the pitches?

    You can find all information about the facilities directly in the advertisement under "What this accommodation offers you".


  • Can I bring my dog with me?

    You will find information on whether dogs are welcome directly in the listing under "What this accommodation offers". When searching for a pitch, you can also activate our "Dogs welcome" filter.


Arrival & Departure

  • Are there fixed arrival or departure times?

    Arrival and departure times are at the discretion of our hosts and are often very flexible. Please get in touch with your hosts directly to discuss all the details regarding arrival and departure. In some cases, you will also find the information directly in the advertisements.


  • When will I find out the exact address of the pitch, the Tiny House or the Cabin?

    You will find the exact address and contact details of your host after booking under "My trips". This way, we prevent guests from traveling directly to camps without booking in advance. In addition, we cannot publish this sensitive data in advance for data protection reasons.


Unsure? Ask Steffen!

Ein lächelnder Steffen berät unsere Kunden von hinterland.camp auf einem Surfcup

Steffen Wagenknecht

Customer Support

Still have questions? Steffen will make sure that you feel completely at ease with us and will be happy to explain to you in detail how everything works.

Hinterland

FAQs für Gäste

Du hast Fragen? Hier findest du Antworten! Gib dein Stichwort in die Suchleiste ein oder klicke dich durch die Kategorien.

Allgemein

  • Was ist hinterland.camp?

    Wir haben hinterland.camp 2020 mit der Mission gegründet, eine neue, nachhaltige Art des Reisens zu ermöglichen – heute sind wir Deutschlands führende Plattform für naturnahe Camps und Cabins. Immer in Alleinlage, mitten im Grünen und fernab der Massen. Entdecke über 2.500 Zelt- und Stellplätze sowie Baumhäuser, Tiny Houses, Glampingzelte und Co. bei netten Gastgeber*innen, die sich auf deinen Besuch freuen. Alle Unterkünfte sind mit nur wenigen Klicks über unsere Webseite und Hinterland-App buchbar.


  • Muss ich etwas für hinterland.camp bezahlen?

    Die Anmeldung auf unserer Plattform ist kostenlos und die Hinterland-Inserate kannst du jederzeit auf unserer Website oder App durchstöbern. Erst wenn du dich dazu entscheidest, einen Platz, ein Tiny House oder eine Cabin zu buchen, zahlst du die Kosten für die Übernachtung. Für Zusatzleistungen wie Strom, Wasser oder Feuerholz fallen gegebenenfalls weitere Kosten in Absprache mit den Gastgeber*innen an. Die Informationen kannst du in der Regel schon der Inseratsbeschreibung entnehmen, ansonsten kannst du dich gerne mit den Gastgeber*innen in Verbindung setzen.


  • Mit wie vielen weiteren Campern muss ich auf dem Platz rechnen?

    Es gibt bei uns viele Camps in absoluter Alleinlage, aber auch welche, die mit bis zu drei Fahrzeugen gebucht werden können. Wie viele Plätze ein*e Gastgeber*in anbietet, siehst du im Inserat unter „Plätze vor Ort". Möchtest du nur Camps in Alleinlage entdecken, nutze einfach unseren Filter dafür.


  • Gibt es eine App?

    Ja, es gibt eine Hinterland-App für iOS und Android, mit der du deine Outdoor-Abenteuer noch schneller und einfacher von unterwegs aus buchen kannst. Hier geht's du zum Download.


  • Gibt es grundsätzliche Regeln, die ich befolgen muss?

    Unsere Gastgeber*innen machen die Regeln und du findest alle Infos im Inserat. Bitte beachte, dass du vor Ort immer respektvoll mit dem Eigentum der Gastgebenden umgehst und Camps und Cabins sauber und ordentlich hinterlässt. Natur und Ruhe sind ein wertvolles Gut.


  • Kann man die Stellplätze auch als Dauerstellplätze mieten?

    Dauerplätze sind eigentlich nicht der Sinn von hinterland.camp. Die Information zur maximalen Aufenthaltsdauer findest du im jeweiligen Inserat unter "Übernachtungen". Wenn du mal länger bleiben möchtest, kontaktiere am besten direkt unseren Customer Support unter hallo@hinterland.camp, sodass wir einen längeren Aufenthalt und individuellen Preis mit dem/der Gastgeber*in besprechen können.


  • Was hat es mit den VW-Plätzen auf sich?

    Seit 2021 sind wir offizieller Partner von Volkswagen Nutzfahreuge. Gemeinsam kuratieren wir exklusiv für VW-Camper pro Saison zehn einzigartige Plätze, die du an der Kennzeichnung "VW only" erkennst. Du hast keinen VW? Kein Problem, denn wir verlosen regelmäßig Roadtrips mit den neuesten Modellen! Hier findest du weitere Infos.


  • Welche VW-Modelle sind auf den “VW only”-Plätzen erlaubt?

    Alle Reisemobile auf VW-Basis sind auf den zehn exklusiven Plätzen willkommen. Bitte beachte, dass es sich um Stellplätze und keine Zeltplätze handelt – Zelte, die als Vorzelte aufgestellt werden und Dachzelte sind aber natürlich erlaubt. Alle anderen Plätze (wir haben mittlerweile knapp 2.500 Plätze) sind natürlich weiterhin für ALLE zugänglich :)


Bezahlung

  • Welche Zahlungsmethoden werden unterstützt?

    Die Bezahlung läuft ganz easy über unsere Homepage oder App per Apple Pay, Google Pay, Bankeinzug oder Kreditkarte.


  • Wieso kann ich nicht in Bar vor Ort bezahlen?

    Barzahlung ist nicht erlaubt, da wir als Plattform von einer Servicegebühr leben, die uns bei der Zahlung vor Ort entgehen würde. Durch die Vorab-Buchung und -Bezahlung hast du deine Übernachtung außerdem verbindlich gebucht und kannst dir sicher sein, dass das Camp oder die Unterkunft für dich frei ist.


  • Wann wird der Betrag abgebucht?

    Das hängt davon ab, wann du eine Unterkunft buchst. Das Geld wird frühestens 30 Tage vor der Anreise von deinem angegebenen Konto oder deiner angegebenen Kreditkarte eingezogen bzw. abgebucht.


  • Wieso stehen 0€ auf meiner Kreditkartenabrechnung?

    Die Abbuchung von 0,00 Euro, die du auf der Abrechnung siehst, ist nur der Hinweis, dass alles mit der Autorisierung der Kreditkartenzahlung geklappt hat. Der Betrag wird sozusagen schon vorgemerkt und wird demnächst noch vor Reiseantritt abgebucht.


Buchung

  • Wie buche ich ein Camp oder eine Cabin?

    Ein Camp oder eine Cabin buchst du bzw. fragst du über das Inserat direkt bei dem/der Gastgeber*in an. Wähle deine gewünschten Reisedaten aus und klicke auf “Zur Buchung” oder “Buchung anfragen”, dann wirst du Schritt für Schritt durch den Prozess geleitet. Deine offenen Anfragen und Buchungen findest du übrigens bei "Meine Reisen”.


  • Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Sofortbuchungen und Buchungsanfragen?

    Bei einer Buchung auf Anfrage müssen Gastgeber*innen die Buchung vorab bestätigen – du musst also noch kurz auf die Buchungsbestätigung warten. Bei Sofortbuchungen entfällt dieser Schritt und deine Buchung ist direkt bestätigt. Den Status deiner angefragten Buchung kannst du jederzeit über “Meine Reisen” einsehen.


  • Kann ich kurzfristig ein Camp oder eine Cabin buchen?

    Na klar! Hinterland-Unterkünfte kannst du auch spontan noch am Tag der Anreise anfragen oder sofort buchen. Teilweise kann es sein, dass du Inserate mit Soforbuchungsfunktion “nur” am Vortag oder bis 12 Uhr am Anreisetag buchen kannst – in diesem Fall kontaktiere gern unseren Customer Support und wir klären alles für dich.


  • Wann erhalte ich eine Rückmeldung zum Status meiner angefragten Buchung?

    Unsere Gastgeber*innen antworten erfahrungsgemäß zuverlässig und zügig innerhalb eines Tages. Bitte beachte aber auch, dass die meisten Gastgebenden Privatpersonen sind und Camps oder Cabins neben ihrer eigentlichen Arbeit anbieten. Den Status deiner angefragten Buchung kannst du jederzeit über “Meine Reisen” einsehen. Per Mail oder Push-Nachricht in unserer App erhältst du außerdem ein Update, wenn deine Buchung angenommen wurde.


  • Wie erkenne ich, ob ein Camp oder eine Cabin verfügbar ist?

    In jedem Inserat findest du einen Buchungskalender, in dem du sehen kannst, wann ein Camp oder eine Cabin verfügbar ist oder nicht. Bereits ausgebuchte oder von dem/der Gastgeber*in blockierte Daten erscheinen durchgestrichen und können nicht ausgewählt werden.


  • Können auch Gruppen einen Platz buchen?

    Die maximal Personenzahl pro Platz findest du im Inserat. Eine Gruppenbuchung kann in Ausnahmefällen möglich sein – wende dich dazu bitte direkt an den/die Gastgeber*in. Sofern er/sie zustimmt, kontaktiere unseren Customer Support unter hallo@hinterland.cam, sodass wir eine Gruppenbuchung und einen individuellen Preis mit dem/der Gastgeber*in besprechen können.


  • Kann ich bestehende Buchungen auf ein anderes Datum umbuchen oder um Nächte verkürzen?

    Wenn du eine Buchung im Sonderfall umbuchen oder verkürzen möchtest, wende dich bitte an unseren Customer Support unter hallo@hinterland.camp.


Kommunikation

  • Wie nehme ich Kontakt zu den Gastgeber*innen auf?

    Auf der Inseratsseite kannst du über den Button „Gastgeber*in kontaktieren“ jederzeit einen Chat starten und individuelle Fragen direkt an deine Gastgeber*innen stellen (es kommt dann noch nicht zu einer Buchung). Diese Funktion steht dir zur Verfügung, sobald du eingeloggt bist.


  • Warum werden Telefonnummern und Mailadressen im Chat ausgeblendet?

    Wir blenden Telefonnummern und Mailadressen aus, damit Buchung und Bezahlung sicher über unsere Plattform abgewickelt werden. Nach einer verbindlichen Buchung kannst du natürlich die Adresse, Telefonnummer und Mailadresse des/der Gastgeber*in unter “Meine Reisen” einsehen.


Stornierung

  • Bis wann kann eine Buchung storniert werden?

    Stornierst du als Gast eine Buchung mindestens 30 Tage vor dem Anreisedatum, wird dir der Mietpreis zurückerstattet, nicht jedoch die Servicegebühr. Bei einer Stornierung innerhalb von 30 Tagen vor dem Anreisedatum erfolgt keine Rückerstattung. Eine Rückbuchung über die Kreditkarte (Chargeback) ist nicht als Stornierung zulässig.


  • Wie kann ich eine Buchung stornieren?

    Wenn du eine Sofortbuchung stornieren möchtest, kannst du dich mit dem/der Gastgeber*in in Verbindung setzen, diese/r kann innerhalb von 24 Stunden nach getätigter Buchung stornieren. Sonstige Stornierungen (beispielsweise Buchungen auf Anfrage) von verbindlichen Buchungen kann ein/e Gastgeber*in nur in direktem Kontakt zu Hinterland anfragen. Wir versuchen dann zusammen mit Gastgeber*in und Gast eine Lösung zu finden.


  • Welche Stornokosten fallen an?

    Stornierst du als Gast eine Buchung mindestens 30 Tage vor dem Anreisedatum, wird der Mietpreis zurückerstattet, nicht jedoch die Servicegebühr. Stornierst du eine Buchung innerhalb von 30 Tagen vor dem Anreisedatum, erfolgt keinerlei Rückerstattung.


  • An wen muss ich mich für eine Reklamation wenden?

    Als Gast bist du verpflichtet, schwerwiegende Reklamationen innerhalb von 24 Stunden nach Ankunft, per E-Mail (hallo@hinterland.camp) zu melden und genaue Informationen oder Nachweise (z.B. in Form von Fotos oder Videos) über die Umstände der Reklamation zu hinterlegen. Wir prüfen dann deinen individuellen Fall und wenn deine Reklamation berechtigt ist, können wir die Auszahlung der Buchung an den/die Gastgeber*in zurückhalten.


  • Bis wann ist eine Reklamation möglich?

    Wenn du etwas reklamieren möchtest, muss das innerhalb der ersten 24 Stunden nach Ankunft beim Camp oder der Cabin per Mail an hallo@hinterland.camp geschehen. Außerdem musst du genaue Informationen oder Nachweise (z.B. in Form von Fotos oder Videos) hinzufügen, die uns einen besseren Einblick in die Umstände der Reklamation ermöglichen.


Ausstattung

  • Gibt es Möglichkeiten zur Grau- und Schwarzwasser-Entsorgung?

    Die Ausstattung legen Gastgebende individuell fest. Du findest alle Infos im Inserat unter “Das bietet dir diese Unterkunft”.


  • Werden sanitäre Anlagen durch die Gastgeber*innen bereitgestellt?

    Die Ausstattung legen Gastgebende individuell fest. Du findest alle Infos im Inserat unter “Das bietet dir diese Unterkunft”.


  • Sind auf den Stellplätzen Stromanschlüsse vorhanden?

    Die Ausstattung legen Gastgebende individuell fest. Du findest alle Infos im Inserat unter “Das bietet dir diese Unterkunft”.


  • Kann ich meinen Hund mitbringen?

    Du findest eine Info, ob Hunde willkommen sind, direkt im Inserat unter “Das bietet dir diese Unterkunft”. In der Suche kannst du außerdem unseren Filter "Hunde willkommen" aktivieren.


An- und Abreise

  • Gibt es feste An- oder Abreisezeiten?

    Die Bestimmungen für An- und Abreisezeiten liegen in der Hand unserer Gastgeber*innen und sind oft sehr flexibel. Setze dich gern direkt mit deinen Gastgeber*innen in Verbindung, um alle Details zur An- und Abreise zu besprechen. Teilweise findest du die Infos auch schon direkt in den Inseraten.


  • Wann erfahre ich die genaue Adresse des Platzes, des Tiny Houses oder der Cabin?

    Die genaue Adresse zur Anreise sowie die Kontaktdaten deines*r Gastgebers*in findest du nach der Buchung unter “Meine Reisen”. So verhindern wir, dass Gäste ohne Voranmeldung Camps oder Cabins direkt anfahren. Außerdem können wir diese sensiblen Daten aus Datenschutzgründen nicht im Vorfeld veröffentlichen.


Unsicher? Frag Steffen!

Ein lächelnder Steffen berät unsere Kunden von hinterland.camp auf einem Surfcup

Steffen Wagenknecht

Customer Support

Deine Frage ist noch nicht geklärt? Steffen sorgt dafür, dass du dich bei uns rundum wohl fühlst und erklärt dir gerne im Detail, wie alles funktioniert.